WYSE Day 1 Blog

Day One on George Masons beautiful campus was a blur of blue shirts and BIG ideas. The advanced group of individuals really helped me open up to other delegates to create some friendships I’ve already made. With everyone being so nice, it really helps with the getting used to of being around people you’ve never met before and I think that is really important.

Reflecting back  on what WYSE had in store for us today, our speaker after dinner was very moving & funny. Forrest Pritchard gave a very interesting presentation about the farming industry. Even though I had never paid any mind to agriculture, this presentation brought some great points to my attention. The fact that only 1.8% of the worlds 7 billion population are farmers just baffles me. What happens when that tiny percentage runs out? No more organics and freshly picked fruits and vegetables. Even bigger problems with obesity and eating disorders. It would also ruin the environment. Pritchard’s speech was very enlightening and I enjoyed it immensely.

My favorite part so far (apart from the delicious food) is definitely the color group meetings. It gives everyone a chance to meet and bond with other people and share some ideas and changes you want to help make to help our environment. With interests ranging from soil decomposition, to meteorology. Its a very diverse set of interests which makes it interesting. I know one thing for sure and its that everyone at this summit is very concerned about environmental science in some way and that we all love it.

2 thoughts on “WYSE Day 1 Blog

  1. Natalee,

    What an awesome experience! Thank you for taking the time to reflect and document your day. Hope to read more soon!

    Like

Leave a comment